Simply Vine

Sub Regions

Catalonia Region

Catalonia lies at the northeast of Spain, bordering with the Pyrenees and France in the north, the Mediterranean Sea in the east, Comunidad Valenciana in the south and Aragon in the west. Barcelona is the capital of the region.  It's a land of wide bio climatic varieties: Mountains (the Pyrenees), plains and valleys (like the Ebro Valley) and coast (the Catalan shoreline).

Catalonia is regarded as distinct from Spain's other wine-growing regions because of the versatility of its wine and grape styles.  There is a strong French influence on two of its most recognizable wines, the Champagne-style sparkling Cava and its still reds.

The quality of Catalonia's wines has also been boosted by the creation of the Catalonia DO which is more of a generic title and catches all of the scattered vineyards not covered by the region's 11 other designations. 

These are the Emporda, Costers del Segre, Pla de Bages, Alella, Cava, Penedes, Conca de Barbera, Tarragona, Montsant and Terra Alta DOs and Priorat, a DOCa (Denominación de Origen Calificada, the highest classification).

Wine Regions

The combination of climate and geography is what makes a wine. Therefore distinctive flavours come from various regions.

Wine Regions