Simply Vine

Sub Regions

Piedmont Region

Piedmont is a region situated in the north-western corner of Italy and is the region that produces the largest number of best known, noble, and world-appreciated prize-winning wines, such as Barbera, Barolo, Barbaresco, Dolcetto, Nebbiolo, Grignolino, Malvasia and Asti Spumante among others.

Piedmont, in Italian, means at the foot of the mountain and another distinguished characteristic of Piedmont is that most of its wines are produced on family estates made up of relatively small parcels of land.

The main red grape variety used in the region is Nebbiolo, which is the base for the famed Barolo and Barbaresco wines but the Barbera and Dolcetta varieties are also used.

White wines are produced from Moscato grapes grown around Asti and famed for  Moscato d’Asti and sparkling Asti Spumante. Cortese is another white grape variety used to make Gavi, the Piedmontese white of the connoisseur.

There are 46 different DOC and 4 DOCG areas in the Piedmont region.

Wine Regions

The combination of climate and geography is what makes a wine. Therefore distinctive flavours come from various regions.

Wine Regions