Simply Vine

Sub Regions

Burgundy Region

Classic region for Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.

Wines from the wider Burgandy region are labelled as Bourgogne AC.

The best come from the Cote d’Or which is split into Cote de Nuits to the north and Cote de Beaune to the south.

The wines are generally labelled with the names of the village (e.g. Nuits-Saint-Georges)

Main appellations and labelling terms are :


Classic Chardonnay based White Wines,

Bourgogne AC

Chablis AC

Puligny-Montrachet AC, Meursault AC

Montrachet Grand Cru AC

Macon AC

Pouilly-Fuisse AC


Classic Pinot Noir based Red Wines,

Bourgogne AC

Gevrey-Chambertin AC, Nuits-Saint-Georges AC

Beaune AC, Pommard AC

Chambertin Grand Cru AC

Wine Regions

The combination of climate and geography is what makes a wine. Therefore distinctive flavours come from various regions.

Wine Regions