Simply Vine


There are seven primary wine-producing regions in France. Alsace, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Loire, Provence and the Rhone Valley comprise the dominant French wine regions. These regions, are known for particular grape varietals as dictated by the district's indigenous terroir.

Each region has many sub regions known as Appelations.

French laws covering the AC (Appellation Controlee) names rarely permit the naming of grape varieties on labels. This can mean, for example, fans of Chardonnay may not realise that some of the finest expressions of this variety come in bottles labelled as Chablis or Meursault.

Each wine region is closely associated with particular grape types and once that is made clear, it will be easier to understand French wine.

Regions & Sub-Regions

  • Vin de Pays (VDP)

    • Cotes de Gascogne

  • Rhone Valley

    • IGP Vaucluse

  • Bordeaux

    • Côtes de Castillon

    • Pomerol

Wine Regions

The combination of climate and geography is what makes a wine. Therefore distinctive flavours come from various regions.

Wine Regions